Genbukan Ninjutsu


07971 700631

Traditional Japanese Martial Arts





Copyright © 2018 Genbukan Kenshu Dojo UK

Bōjutsu  (棒術)

Bōjutsu is the art of using a staff called a Bō (6ft Length) or Hanbō (3ft Length).
Techniques involve slashing, swinging, and stabbing with the staff.
Others involve twirling the Bō at high speeds to catch the opponent off guard, and then using the momentum to strike.

Biken-jutsu (秘剣術)

Biken-jutsu (secret sword art) initially begins with a wooden sword, although, more advanced practitioners may use real swords (iaito/shinken).
Training incorporates Kenjutsu (剣術) patterns with sword already unsheathed, Iaijutsu (居術), the art of drawing the sword quickly from the scabbard, and Battōjutsu (抜術) drawing and cutting at the same time.
Ninpo Taijutsu is a collection of martial arts techniques and philosophies which emerged from the Iga and Koga regions of Japan over many centuries. Ninpo Taijutsu (Ninjutsu) teaches defensive techniques utilising natural body movement which are not reliant on speed or power to overcome an adversary. The curriculum includes:

Evasion techniques, including break-falls, jumps and rolls, used to avoid an assailant’s attack.

Punching and kicking methods which utilise the whole body to generate maximum power and efficiency.

Kosshi-jutsu / Koppo-jutsu
Applies knowledge of anatomical weak points in order to defend against a stronger attacker.

Includes joint locking, throws and chokes, as well as their escape methods.

Ninpo Taijutsu (忍法体術)

Training at the Genbukan Kenshu Dojo UK follows a syllabus which has been specially developed by Grandmaster Tanemura Soke and focuses around the four main pillars of Ninjutsu (Ninpo Taijutsu), Jujutsu (Samurai martial arts), Bikenjutsu (Samurai sword) and Bojutsu (Pole arms).


In addition special classes are held teaching weapons such as Yari (spear), Naginata (helberd), kusari fundo (weighted chain) and Shuriken (throwing darts).


The training at the Dojo accommodates beginner to advanced levels ages 15+. The system allows students to advance through 10 Kyu (below blackbelt) grades before training in the more advanced Dan (blackbelt) levels.


On top of this students also have the opportunity to study the historic martial art traditions (Ryu Ha) in there original form such as Togakure Ryu, Kukishin Ryu, Takagi Yoshin Ryu and Asa Yama Ichiden Ryu to name but a few.

Jujutsu was originally developed by the warrior class, known as Samurai, to enforce the laws of differing domains within Japan. As each area developed their own techniques, numerous styles of Jujutsu emerged. Over time less effective styles became obsolete leaving those that had been tried and tested in real combat to survive.
In comparison to Ninpo, Jujutsu focuses mainly on unarmed techniques which can be both defensive and offensive, allowing the practitioner to utilise the situation accordingly. Many techniques result in an opponent being restrained, hence why modern law enforcement agencies still practice Jujutsu techniques today.

Jujutsu (国際柔術)